PSI, Paul Scherrer Institute

PSI, Paul Scherrer Institute

PSI, Paul Scherrer Institute   link
Location: Villigen
PSI, Forschungsstrasse 111, 5232 Villigen

Discipline: Physics
Affiliation: ETH Board

The Paul Scherrer Institute, PSI, is the largest research institute for natural and engineering sciences within Switzerland. We perform world-class research in three main subject areas: Matter and Material; Energy and the Environment; and Human Health. By conducting fundamental and applied research, we work on long-term solutions for major challenges facing society, industry and science.

Physics - Computer Science - Jan 20
Physics - Computer Science
Researchers at PSI have compared the electron distribution below the oxide layer of two semiconductors. The investigation is part of an effort to develop particularly stable quantum bits -and thus, in turn, particularly efficient quantum computers. They have now published their latest research, which is supported in part by Microsoft, in the scientific journal Advanced Quantum Technologies .
Life Sciences - Physics - Jan 3
Life Sciences - Physics

PSI scientists have shed light on an important component of the eye: a protein in the rod cells of the retina which helps us see in dim light. Acting as an ion channel in the cell membrane, the protein is responsible for relaying the optical signal from the eye to the brain. If a genetic disorder disrupts the molecular function in a person, they will go blind. Scientists have deciphered the protein's three-dimensional structure, preparing the way for innovative medical treatments. The study is published in the scientific journal Nature Structural & Molecular Biology .

Health - Innovation - Dec 20, 2021
Health - Innovation

Kantonsspital Baden (KSB) and the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI in Villigen are following the same research paths, which they have confirmed by signing a new cooperation agreement. Their aim is to launch joint initiatives and clinically applied research projects. They also hope to be able to establish mutual spin-offs and start-ups.

Environment - Chemistry - Dec 2, 2021
Environment - Chemistry

An international group of researchers led by the Paul Scherrer Institute and the Heriot-Watt University has carried out in-depth analyses of the climate impact of blue hydrogen. This is produced from natural gas, with the CO2 resulting from the process captured and stored. The study, published in the Royal Society of Chemistry's journal Sustainable Energy & Fuels , concludes that blue hydrogen can play a positive role in the energy transition - under certain conditions.

Health - Pharmacology - Nov 9, 2021
Health - Pharmacology

Today a 60-year-old patient suffering from lung cancer received proton beam therapy, a medical procedure where positively charged particles are precisely targeted at the tumour.

Life Sciences - Health - Oct 18, 2021
Life Sciences - Health

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI have identified a chemical compound that may be suitable as an active agent against several different unicellular parasites. Among these are the pathogens that cause malaria and toxoplasmosis. The point of attack for this promising substance is the protein tubulin: It helps cells divide and therefore is essential for the multiplication of the parasites. The study appears today in the journal EMBO Molecular Medicine .

Physics - Materials Science - Dec 22, 2021
Physics - Materials Science

Quantum effects in superconductors could give semiconductor technology a new twist. Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI and Cornell University in New York State have identified a composite material that could integrate quantum devices into semiconductor technology, making electronic components significantly more powerful.

Health - Pharmacology - Dec 15, 2021
Health - Pharmacology

Researchers at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI have tested various methods to check how effective they are in combatting certain types of cancer. They found a combination of two preparations to be much more effective than treatment with just one of the two active substances. They have published their findings today in the medical journal Pharmaceutics .

Health - Physics - Nov 25, 2021
Health - Physics

On 25 November 1996, the Center for Proton Therapy at the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI treated a cancer patient using the spot-scanning technique for the very first time - a world premiere.

Environment - Chemistry - Nov 3, 2021
Environment - Chemistry

In a new study, researchers from the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI show that CO. 2 electrolysis can not only be profitable, but can also contribute to climate protection. With this method, carbon dioxide is captured from the atmosphere or at the point of production, such as an industrial plant. An electrolysis cell then converts the gas for industrial use, such as in chemicals production. The study, published today in the journal Renewable & Sustainable Energy Reviews , simulates the use of different cell designs on an industrial scale.

Physics - Oct 18, 2021
Physics

An international team with participation of the Paul Scherrer Institute PSI shows how light can fundamentally change the properties of solids and how these effects can be used for future applications. The researchers summarise their progress in this field, which is based among other things on experiments that can also be carried out at the Swiss X-ray free-electron laser SwissFEL, in the scientific journal Reviews of Modern Physics .



Job Offers

» Job Offer: PSI, Paul Scherrer Institute

Last job offers

Physics - 05.01
Laser Scientist (Tenure Track) (index no. 6611-00) Paul Scherrer Institut


Website Preview

This site uses cookies and analysis tools to improve the usability of the site. More information. |

PSI, Paul Scherrer Institut

PSI, Paul Scherrer Institut

PSI, Paul Scherrer Institut   link
Ort: Villigen
PSI, Forschungsstrasse 111, 5232 Villigen

Kategorie: Physik
Angliederung: ETH Rat

Das Paul Scherrer Institut PSI ist das grösste Forschungsinstitut für Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften in der Schweiz. Wir betreiben Spitzenforschung in den Bereichen Materie und Material, Mensch und Gesundheit sowie Energie und Umwelt. Durch Grundlagen- und angewandte Forschung arbeiten wir an nachhaltigen Lösungen für zentrale Fragen aus Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft.

Physik - Mathematik - 20.01
Physik - Mathematik
Forschende haben am PSI die Elektronenverteilung unter der Oxidschicht zweier Halbleiter verglichen. Die Untersuchung ist Teil der Entwicklung besonders stabiler Quantenbits - und damit wiederum besonders effizienter Quantencomputer. Ihre jüngste Forschung, die auch von Microsoft unterstützt wird, veröffentlichen sie nun im Fachblatt Advanced Quantum Technologies .
Biowissenschaften - Chemie - 3.01
Biowissenschaften - Chemie

PSI-Forschende haben einen wichtigen Bestandteil im Auge aufgeklärt. Es handelt sich um ein Protein in den Stäbchenzellen der Netzhaut, die es uns ermöglichen, bei Dämmerlicht zu sehen.

Gesundheit - Innovation - 20.12.2021
Gesundheit - Innovation

Das Kantonsspital Baden (KSB) und das Paul Scherrer Institut PSI in Villigen gehen in der Forschung gemeinsame Wege. Zu diesem Zweck haben die beiden Institutionen einen Kooperationsvertrag unterzeichnet. Ziel ist es, gemeinsame Initiativen und klinisch-angewandte Forschungsprojekte zu initiieren. Auch die Gründung von gemeinsamen Spin-offs oder Start-ups wird möglich sein.

Umwelt - 2.12.2021
Umwelt

Eine internationale Gruppe von Forschenden unter Leitung des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI und der Heriot-Watt-Universität haben die Klimawirkungen von sogenanntem blauem Wasserstoff umfangreich analysiert. Er wird aus Erdgas gewonnen, wobei die dabei entstehenden CO2-Emissionen abgeschieden und gespeichert werden. Die Studie zeigt, dass blauer Wasserstoff unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eine positive Rolle bei der Energiewende spielen kann. Sie erscheint im Fachmagazin Sustainable Energy & Fuels der Royal Society of Chemistry.

Gesundheit - Physik - 9.11.2021
Gesundheit - Physik

Am Paul Scherrer Institut PSI wurde heute ein an Lungenkrebs erkrankte 60-jährige Patientin mit Protonen, also positiv geladenen Teilchen, bestrahlt.

Biowissenschaften - Pharmakologie - 18.10.2021
Biowissenschaften - Pharmakologie

Forschende am Paul Scherrer Institut PSI haben eine chemische Verbindung identifiziert, die sich vermutlich als Wirkstoff gegen gleich mehrere einzellige Parasiten eignet. Dazu gehören die Erreger der Malaria sowie der Toxoplasmose. Angriffspunkt der vielversprechenden Substanz ist das Protein Tubulin: Es hilft Zellen dabei, sich zu teilen, und ist damit auch für die Vermehrung der Parasiten unentbehrlich. Die Studie erscheint heute im Journal EMBO Molecular Medicine .

Physik - Elektrotechnik - 22.12.2021
Physik - Elektrotechnik

Quanteneffekte in Supraleitern könnten der Halbleitertechnologie eine neue Wendung geben. Forschende des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI und der Universität Cornell im US-Bundesstaat New York haben ein Verbundmaterial identifiziert, das Quantenbauelemente in die Halbleitertechnologie integrieren und damit elektronische Bauteile deutlich leistungsstärker machen könnte.

Gesundheit - Pharmakologie - 15.12.2021
Gesundheit - Pharmakologie

Forschende des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI haben verschiedene Verfahren zur Bekämpfung bestimmter Krebsarten auf ihre Effektivität Überprüft. Die Kombination aus zwei Präparaten zeigte dabei eine deutlich bessere Wirkung als die Behandlung mit nur einem der beiden Wirkstoffe. Ihre Ergebnisse veröffentlichen sie heute im Fachmagazin Pharmaceutics .

Gesundheit - Physik - 25.11.2021
Gesundheit - Physik

Am 25. November 1996 behandelte das Zentrum für Protonentherapie am Paul Scherrer Institut PSI das erste Mal einen Krebspatienten mit der sogenannten Spot-Scanning-Technik - eine weltweite Premiere.

Umwelt - Chemie - 3.11.2021
Umwelt - Chemie

In einer neuen Studie zeigen Forschende des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI, dass die sogenannte CO. 2 -Elektrolyse profitabel sein und einen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz leisten kann.

Physik - Materialwissenschaft - 18.10.2021
Physik - Materialwissenschaft

Ein internationales Team mit Beteiligung des Paul Scherrer Instituts PSI zeigt auf, wie Licht die Eigenschaften von Festkörpern grundlegend verändern kann und wie diese Effekte für zukünftige Anwendungen genutzt werden können. Die Fortschritte auf diesem Gebiet, die unter anderem auf Experimenten beruhen, die auch am Schweizer Freie-Elektronen-Röntgenlaser SwissFEL durchgeführt werden können, fassen die Forschenden im Fachmagazin Reviews of Modern Physics zusammen.



Stellenangebote

» Stellenangebote suchen: PSI, Paul Scherrer Institut

Letzten Stellenangebote

Physik - 05.01
Laser Scientist (Tenure Track) (index no. 6611-00) Paul Scherrer Institut


Website Preview

Diese Website verwendet Cookies und Analysetools, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit der Website zu verbessern. Weitere Informationen. |