innovation

innovation

The Swiss economy focuses on high tech, quality work and skilled workers and strongly depends on foreign trade.

Switzerland is the third largest supplier and second largest customer of the EU: 62% of Swiss exports go to the EU and 79% of imports originate from the EU. The most important exported goods are chemicals, machinery and electronics, as well as tools and watches. Leading companies in engineering, machinery, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, medical technology, and computer sciences have headquarters in Switzerland. Switzerland’s innovation performance is among the best in the world.

  • The engineering, electrical and metal industry occupies a key position in the Swiss national economy: it is the largest industrial employer, with approximately 330,000 employees and contributes 32 percent of the goods exported from Switzerland, with exports at a value of CHF 66 billion (2014). 
  • Some 600 medical technology companies employ a highly qualified workforce of 40,000, making the sector one of the largest and most diversified in Europe. The revenues reach a total of CHF 20.3 billion.
  • The biotech industry in Switzerland benefits simultaneously from the inputs of Swiss world leading pharma enterprises and cutting-edge public research institutions. In 2012, the Swiss biotech counted 4,300 employees and generated a turnover of almost CHF 5 billion.

Source: Swissmem, OECD

Related Pages

 


 
 
Jobs on

innovation

innovation

Die Schweizer Wirtschaft zeichnet sich aus durch Spitzentechnologie, Arbeit hoher Qualität und hochqualifizierte Arbeitskräfte. Sie hängt massgeblich ab vom Aussenhandel.

Die Schweiz ist die zweitgrösste Kundin und drittgrösste Warenlieferantin der EU: 62% der Schweizer Exporte gehen in die EU, und 79% der Importe kommen aus der EU. Die wichtigsten Export-Waren sind Chemikalien, Maschinen und Elektronik sowie Werkzeuge und Uhren. Führende Firmen im Ingenieurbereich, in der Maschinenindustrie, in der chemischen Industrie, in Biotechnologie und Computerwissenschaften haben ihre Firmensitze in der Schweiz. Die Schweiz gehört zu den innovativsten Ländern der Welt.

  • Die Maschinen-, Elektro- und Metall-Industrie nimmt in der schweizerischen Volkswirtschaft eine Schlüsselstellung ein: Mit rund 330’000 Beschäftigten ist sie die grösste industrielle Arbeitgeberin und bestreitet mit Exporten von 66 Milliarden CHF (2014) 32 Prozent der Güterausfuhren aus der Schweiz.
  • In der Medizin-Technik beschäftigen ca. 600 Medizintechnik-Unternehmen 40’000 hochqualifizierte Arbeitskräfte. Damit ist der Sektor einer der größten und am stärksten diversifizierten Europas. Die Gesamteinnahmen liegen bei 20,3 Milliarden CHF.
  • Die Biotech-Industrie in der Schweiz profitiert einerseits von den Inputs der führenden Pharmaunternehmen und andererseits von den weltbesten Forschungsinstitutionen und Universitäten. Der Biotech-Sektor zählte 2012 in der Schweiz 4300 Arbeitnehmer/innen und generierte einen Umsatz von fast 5 Milliarden CHF.

Quelle: Swissmem. OECD

Ähnliche Seiten