innovation

innovation

The Swiss economy focuses on high tech, quality work and skilled workers and strongly depends on foreign trade.

Switzerland is the third largest supplier and second largest customer of the EU: 62% of Swiss exports go to the EU and 79% of imports originate from the EU. The most important exported goods are chemicals, machinery and electronics, as well as tools and watches. Leading companies in engineering, machinery, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, medical technology, and computer sciences have headquarters in Switzerland. Switzerland’s innovation performance is among the best in the world.

  • The engineering, electrical and metal industry occupies a key position in the Swiss national economy: it is the largest industrial employer, with approximately 330,000 employees and contributes 32 percent of the goods exported from Switzerland, with exports at a value of CHF 66 billion (2014). 
  • Some 600 medical technology companies employ a highly qualified workforce of 40,000, making the sector one of the largest and most diversified in Europe. The revenues reach a total of CHF 20.3 billion.
  • The biotech industry in Switzerland benefits simultaneously from the inputs of Swiss world leading pharma enterprises and cutting-edge public research institutions. In 2012, the Swiss biotech counted 4,300 employees and generated a turnover of almost CHF 5 billion.

Source: Swissmem, OECD

Related Pages

 


 
 
Jobs on

innovation

innovation

L’économie suisse est centrée sur la haute technologie, des employés hautement qualifiés et une très grande dépendance vis à vis du commerce extérieur.

La Suisse est le troisième plus grand fournisseur et le deuxième plus grand client de l’Union européenne. 62% des exportations suisses sont destinées à l’Europe et 79% des importations proviennent de l’Union européenne. Les produits les plus exportés sont les produits de l’industrie de la chimie, des machines et de l’électronique et bien sûr les montres! Les sièges des plus grandes compagnies actives dans les secteurs de l’ingénieurie, de la machinerie, de la pharma, de la biotechnologie, de la technologie médicale et de l’informatique de pointe se trouvent en Suisse. La performance de la Suisse dans le domaine de l’innovation est parmi la meilleure au monde.

  • L’industrie des machines, des équipements électriques et des métaux occupe une place importante dans l’économie nationale suisse: avec 330’000 employés, elle est le plus grand employeur industriel et représente, avec 66 milliards CHF (2014), 32 % des exportations de la Suisse.
  • Les 600 entreprises liées aux technologies médicales emploient une main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée de 40’000 personnes, faisant de ce secteur l’un des plus importants et des plus diversifiés d’Europe. Le chiffre d’affaires de ce secteur atteint 20,3 milliards CHF.
  • L’industrie de la biotechnologie suisse bénéficie autant de l’input des plus importantes entreprise pharmaceutiques que des meilleures instituts de recherche. En 2012, l’industrie de la biotechnologie suisse employait environ 4,300 personnes et a généré 5 milliards CHF.

Source: Swissmem, OCDE

Voir aussi