Federal Council elects two new members to the Innosuisse Board of Directors

On 9 December, the Federal Council elected Aude Pugin, CEO of APCO Technologies, and Sergio Ermotti, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Swiss Re Group, to the Board of Directors of Innosuisse. The new members will take up their duties on 1 January 2023. They will replace Nicola Thibaudeau and Thierry Calame, who will step down at the end of 2022. The Federal Council would like to thank the two departing members for their service to Innosuisse.

The Innosuisse Board of Directors welcomes Aude Pugin and Sergio Ermotti, both top names in the business world who can contribute their long-standing experience. As CEO of APCO Technologies, Aude Pugin brings in-depth personal experience in innovation in the SME and space sector. Sergio Pietro Ermotti spent over 40 years in the financial industry, both at national and international levels, including almost ten years as CEO of UBS Group AG. Today he is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Swiss Re Group. Both new members are well connected nationally and internationally.

The new composition of the Innosuisse Board safeguards the Board’s diversity and the continued close link between science and business. The proportion of women is 43%. Three members are native French speakers, two native German speakers and two native Italian speakers. Innosuisse promotes science-based innovation in the interests of the economy and society. In accordance with the Innosuisse Act, the Board of Directors of Innosuisse consists of five to seven members from the worlds of science and business. It steers the Federal Innovation Promotion Agency strategically and in line with the objectives of the Federal Council.