Jürg Stahl is the new President of the SNSF Foundation Council

- EN - DE- FR
For editorial use. Legend: Jürg Stahl, new President of the SNSF Foundation
For editorial use. Legend: Jürg Stahl, new President of the SNSF Foundation Council. © SNF/Nicolas Brodard

The SNSF Foundation Council has elected Jürg Stahl as its new President. The former president of the National Council replaces Felicitas Pauss, who had led the Foundation Council as interim president since April 2018.

The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) promotes scientific research in Switzerland based on a federal mandate. As its supervisory body, the Foundation Council ensures that the SNSF is on mission to fulfil the purpose of the foundation at all times. It is composed of a maximum of 45 representatives of the federal government, higher education institutions, the Swiss Academies of Arts & Sciences as well as of other organisations of the Swiss science sector.

New President

The Foundation Council of the SNSF has constituted itself for the 2020-2023 period of office and elected its President, Vice President and Executive Committee. The new President is Jürg Stahl, one of seven members delegated by the Federal Council. Maria Schönbächler from the Academies was elected as Vice President.

"A Swiss success story"

From 2011 to 2015, Jürg Stahl was a former member of the Commission for Science, Education and Culture of the National Council and presided over the Council in 2017. For the past three years, he has been the president of Swiss Olympic. "SNSF research funding is a Swiss success story and of great importance for our country," he said. "I am happy to bring my experience to bear at the SNSF to lead this smoothly running organisation into the new decade and develop it - hand in hand with the Foundation Council, the National Research Council and the Administrative Offices of the SNSF."

The SNSF is Switzerland’s foremost research funding organisation. Every year, it invests approximately 1 billion francs in research projects and in the careers of young researchers.